Workout Wednesday: Mile Fail

Workout Wednesday. I intended to do 6 x mile at 8:00-ish/mile pace and made a really awesome playlist for it. It even accounts for rest times in between with some lovely Chopin preludes:
Image

Ahahaha yeah right. This has not been my week. I set out to do the entire workout on grass, which I’ve never done before. I didn’t realize how difficult it is to run on grass! I set my Garmin to 8:00/mile. I was exhausted and behind pace for the first mile and barely made it through the second one. I then abandoned the grass and did 15 sets of 30 second run/30 second walk to test out my Garmin’s “Run/Walk” function, which I’ve never used before. Not really a real workout. I’m going to try the 6 x mile workout at the gym tomorrow on a track. I’ll definitely give grass running another chance though. I can definitely see how it’s less harsh on my joints and can make me faster. 
Image

My outfit:
Image
Top: Nike Element Half Zip, Adidas bra (don’t remember the style); Bottom: Under Armour compression tights; Accessories: Fitbit One, Garmin Forerunner 10, iPod Shuffle

Guess what came in the mail today? My foam roller! I used it before my run, and it hurt so much — in a good way. My calves were definitely very knotty (hence the tightness) along with my quads. I’ll definitely write an update if the roller makes a difference. I hope it does because I dropped $40 on it 🙂
Image

Leave a Reply

