Russian Easter Overture / Mahler 3 Long Run

Wooohooo. Finished my long run. It’s probably my last long run before the Broad Street Run. Given that it’s Easter, I started my run today with Rimsky-Korsakov’s Russian Easter Overture. I love this piece so much. I used to listen to it all the time, even when it wasn’t Easter. I love how festive it is, and the time signature changes are so fun aka perfect for running! I did the rest of my run to Mahler’s 3rd Symphony. I didn’t get to finish the entire symphony during the run — it’s helllaaa long. A friend of mine introduced me to the piece about four years ago and gave me this Kenneth Woods piece to read before we attended a live performance (Philadelphia Orchestra) of the concert. Highly recommend it 🙂

The playlist (only showing the top part of Mahler 3, it’s much longer):
Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 1.15.07 PM

The run:
Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 3.16.09 PM
My outfit:
photo 2-6
This outfit was probably the worst decision I’ve made all week. Long sleeves?! THE WORST. Way too warm!!

I also did a run yesterday, accompanied by Sibelius’s 6th Symphony. I swear the music is used in the Sims… the old school original version.
Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 4.26.38 PM

What I wore:
photo 3-3
You’ve probably figured out by now that I have a bajillion pairs of Nike tempo shorts, so I won’t bother tagging each clothing item. The top is from Lululemon. It’s the “free to be tank,” and it’s super cute. I love the back because it does a double criss cross.

I’m happy that I got some decent mileage in this week — 26/27ish? I’m treating myself to some yummy Loacker wafers (no, I was not compensated for this post. I just happen to love these wafers, and they’re so hard to find, so I stocked up mmm)
photo 1-8

How do you reward yourself when you accomplish your goals?

One thought on “Russian Easter Overture / Mahler 3 Long Run

Leave a Reply

