It feels like summer…

A big congratulations to the sensational Abbey D’Agostino who dominated Heps this past weekend, winning the 10k, 5k, AND 3k. Her story and accomplishments are absolutely inspirational, and it’s so amazing to see an Ivy League student-athlete be so incredibly successful. I can’t wait to follow her professional career (New Balance, anyone?)

In the boring world of a recreational runner-musician, I went for an easy 3 miler this morning and was dripping in sweat by the end. It was a nice way to start the day, but I just can’t believe my body already thinks it’s too hot. Guess I’ll have to work on that because it’s barely 70 degrees! It’s supposed to hit 80 later today, I think.. yikes! Good thing I got the run out of the way.

My easy 3 miler, accompanied by Rachmaninov’s second piano concerto:
Image

I have some running goals for the summer:

  1. Increase my mileage to 20 miles/week and maybe 25-30/week by the end of the summer. Right now, I’m a 10-15-ish miles/week girl. I had a high of 27 miles one week while training for Broad Street, but the other weeks were in the high teens at most. I did the same thing last year for Broad Street, except I ran even less! I did a lot of elliptical/cycling though, so maybe that helped. But yeah, hoping to increase mileage to get stronger and run faster.
  2. Run a 25 minute 5k. I have three 5k’s lined up for this summer (maybe 4?): June 12, July 10, August 14. I ran 2 5k’s last summer, and I think the only “training” I did were maybe 1-2 mile runs around the neighborhood. Oops. Although, to be fair, I was studying for the GRE’s, researching grad schools, and starting my first adult job :p 
  3. Run a sub-7 mile. I haven’t done this since 2011 when I used to get up at like 6am and run before physics class. I doubt I was doing 20 mile weeks, but those days need to happen again. 
  4. More speed work and long runs.

Also, I got new shoes! They’re technically an old model (Brooks PureFlow 2), but I heard really great things about them, so I decided to give them a try. I took them on a short run on Friday when they arrived and then did another short run yesterday (I did my 3 miler today in my Brooks Adrenalines… didn’t want to put too much mileage in a more “minimal” shoe without building up to it).

Image
They are so light and feel great. I’ll continue to do some updates on these as I put more miles in them. Here’s yesterday’s run around the neighborhood:

Image

2 thoughts on “It feels like summer…

  1. I’m with you on the weather! I love spring and summer, but it’s much harder transitioning to hot weather running than cold weather running.
    I love the PureFlows- I’m on my second pair myself. I hope they work out for you too 🙂
    Looking forward to following along as you work towards your goals!

    • Thanks!! Means a lot 🙂 I’ll definitely do my best to keep updating this blog with my progress.
      I’m super excited for the PureFlows. I’m still alternating between them and the Adrenalines, but I think it’s about time I try something new and lighter, so here we are!

Leave a Reply

