Long Weekend Musings

First long weekend of the year. Woohoo!! I really needed a break from work so yay. The best thing about my job is that I get to work with people from all over the world. The worst thing about my job is that I know when other people have bank holidays. First week of May? EVERYONE was out on holiday. International Worker’s Day or something. At least we get Labor Day in September. Sigh. But I feel like the French people I work with are always on holiday. Not fair. Well, now I finally get mine. Catching up on sleep and being thankful for all the women and men who have sacrificed their lives for this country. America ❤ ❤ ❤

And snacking, of course. I went to Trader Joe’s after work yesterday and stocked up on some yummy goodies:
Image
The strawberry ice cream is amazing. It’s also vegan! Who knew vegan could taste so good? And cookie butter!! With crumpets. Delicious. 

Current music obsession: Vaughan Williams’ “The Lark Ascending.” Violin and orchestra version of course. As much as I love the piano (duh), some things just sound better with an orchestra, like Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition.” The piano version is really cool and difficult to play, but I think the orchestral version sounds better because it has more dimension. Thanks Ravel!
My Vaughan Williams infatuation is also probably a result of me being obsessed with all things English as of late (see crumpets above). Tehehe may have some exciting news to share with you in a few weeks 😉

Today’s run:
Image

I did 13 miles last week and this week. Working my way up to my goal of 20 miles per week. Will aim for 15 next week.

Anyway, I’m off to shower and then getting froyo with a friend. Pinkberry! Yum yum. I think I’ve consumed more sugar in the past 48 hours than I have for all of 2014. Haha my life is so exciting.

Do you have any exciting plans for the long weekend? 

4 thoughts on “Long Weekend Musings

  1. I’ve always wondered about that ice cream! Trader Joe’s has so much cool stuff, there’s only so many impulses I can justify per shopping trip 😉 And congrats on 13 miles for the week!

    I’m home in Georgia for the long weekend (or really, for 6 days, just so happening to be over Memorial Day weekend). It’s so hot here, I’m really glad I don’t have to stick around to run in this weather. It’s nice to see family and friends though 🙂

    • You have to get the ice cream the next time you’re there! It’s soooo good. Just gotta be careful to not let it melt on the way home… or you can eat it before that happens hahaha.

      Enjoy your time in Georgia with family and friends 🙂 it’s 82 degrees in Philly right now, so I was drenched in sweat after my run today. I can’t imagine having to run in the southern humidity!

  2. Thanks for following me! I too am excited for the long weekend, although I just got Good Friday off and had a vacation (I work for a software company that does databases for churches so we get Good Friday off).

    I’ve always wondered what 44% humidity felt like, to me that looks like wonderful running weather honestly, here in SC it’s always in the 70s or 80s in the mornings but the humidity is through the roof all the time. I love frozen yogurt, we don’t have Pinkberry here but the same concept… it’s so good!

    Trader joe’s has some interesting things. My favorite thing there was spinach and kale dip. I actually wasn’t a fan of cookie butter, would rather have PB :).

    • Thanks for following me as well! I look forward to reading about your running adventures 🙂 I work for a British company, and all of our British colleagues got off for Good Friday, but we didn’t. Boo.

      I can’t imagine having to run in 70/80% humidity all the time.. That’s crazyyy! I still sweat bucket loads when it’s just in the 40’s haha. Can’t imagine how I’d fare in the south. I was completely drenched after my run today — 82 degrees, humidity in the 20s. Froyo is such a good post-run snack. I got candy with mine yesterday instead of fruit. Oops.

      I haven’t tried the TJ’s spinach and kale dip, but I’ll add that to my shopping list for next time because it sounds delicious — thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a comment