20 mile week = COMPLETE!!

One of my summer running goals was to build up to a 20 mile week, and I can proudly say that I did it 🙂 Now I just have to keep it up for the rest of the summer… I have also accomplished my sub-7 minute mile goal, so the next one to tackle will be the 25 minute 5k! Including last week and the week before, I have run a total of 46 miles in three weeks, which is pretty much more than I have ever run in 3 weeks. Ever.

A summary of my week:
Sunday: 3.28 miles at 8:31 pace, but I think that’s wrong because I used Nike+ instead of my Garmin. I did run in my Brooks Pure Flow 2’s so maybe that’s why I was a bit faster than usual
Monday: 3.01 miles at 8:53 pace
Tuesday: 3 miles. Speed day! 800m warm up, 2 x 800 (3:20, 3:28) with 2 minute rest in between, 2 x 400 (1:38, 1:40) with 2 minute rest in between, 1 x 800 (3:40 — had to be careful because of unaccompanied children fooling around on the narrow indoor track), 800m cool down.
Wednesday: 2.8 mile recovery run at 9:36 pace. Meant to go around 10-10:30, but the last mile+ of my run was a huge downhill
Thursday: rest
Friday: 3.1 miles easy at 9:35 pace for the last 2.1 miles. I ran the same route I usually run, and at mile 1, I noticed that my Garmin was stuck at 0.45 so I restarted it. First mile was around 9:40ish
Saturday: 5 miles easy-ish at 9:16 pace for the last 4 miles. At mile 1, my Garmin was stuck at 0.49 so I restarted it. First mile was around 9:20ish. Ughh I really regret buying a Garmin because 1) it takes foreeever to get the satellite 2) it keeps on getting stuck! Oh well.

Thanks, Garmin. Very helpful :p
Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 5.57.31 PM

The rest of my run:
Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 5.49.30 PM

I did my “long run” of 5 miles today by listening to the opera Cavelleria Rusticana. It was a good way for me to keep the easy pace because I tried to imitate the singers’ breathing as I was running. It worked out pretty well I think because my breathing was super easy, and I was pretending to sing along while breathing, if that makes any sense.

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 4.24.35 PMHere’s a summary of the opera, using names Gossip Girl style to connect with a more 21st century audience:
T (tenor) and L (mezzo soprano) used to be together, but now L is with A (baritone), so T is now with S (soprano). Little does A know, T and L decided to rekindle their past flame. S finds out. Some complicated stuff happens, church people and wine are involved, and S in her operatic jealousy decides to tell A about T and L. A and T then duel it out Aaron Burr and Alexander Hamilton style. T dies. S faints. The end.

Sorry. I totally did not do the opera justice, but that just means you should go see it yourself!! So much more entertaining than Keeping up with the Kardashians.

What do you like to do on your long runs? 

4 thoughts on “20 mile week = COMPLETE!!

  1. I usually listen to music on long runs unless I’m with someone, then we have interesting conversations- especially last summer when i was marathon training with a group. You are definitely on the way to a sub-25 5K too, congrats on your runs this week!

    • I would definitely like to run more with other people (my current schedule isn’t conducive to group runs, unfortunately), in which case I’ll have to put Beethoven aside. Let me know if you’re ever in Philadelphia, and we can run together and talk about fun things 🙂 And thanks!!

    • Isn’t it the best?! I’m one of the few weirdos who enjoys listening to classical music when I run, and I make my playlists based on the run that I’m doing that day / whatever my ears crave haha

Leave a Reply

