#TransformationTuesday

I’m going to write a recap of the Midsummer Night 5K when I find out my chip/clock time. I think it’s somewhere south of 27 minutes. It was 84 degrees and humid, so I was riding a strugglebus pretty much the entire time. Walk breaks, water breaks, etc. A girl in front of me puked at the finish line, and as I was about to sit down on a bench to eat my water ice, another girl next to me on the bench started puking. 😦 hope they were ok. Yeah, there’s a reason I left my pre-med days behind. Yours truly took it easy and made it home sweaty but unscathed 🙂

Today is Transformation Tuesday on Instagram. I posted this photo: 
photo-19
The top picture is from the summer of 1997. I was practicing scales/Hanon in China. The bottom photo is from the summer of 2011. I was performing with the Penn Glee Club in Norway. I was accompanying the group on this piece in the photo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FA-UDCEiDzA. The pianist in the YouTube video plays a B’s at the end instead instead of G#’s. Not sure how I feel about it because I think I prefer the G#’s… but I digress. Listen to it and let me know what you think! 🙂 I absolutely love it and had the pleasure of recording it with the group, so maybe one day I can share it with my offspring hahaha. 

How is everyone dealing with the warm weather? I haven’t been able to do a long run since two Sundays ago because of how hot/humid it’s been here in Philly; I’ve been swimming on all the days sans thunderstorms. Maybe I’ll start carrying around some ice cubes in my shirt or something, but I have to be careful about drinking water / eating cherries that are too cold post-run because I don’t want to pull a William Henry Harrison (the only Penn alum to serve as the president of the United States).

In the mean time, I made a tentative cooling playlist for my (intended) long run this weekend. Here’s to hoping this playlist does its magic:
1) Vivaldi: Concerto for Violin and Strings in F minor, Op. 8 No. 4 “Winter” 
2) Glazunov: “L’Hiver (Winter)” from The Seasons Op. 67
3) Chopin: Étude in A minor, Op. 25 No. 11 “Winter Wind”
4) Schubert: Winterreise
5) Puccini: La Bohème “Oh, Là, Le Guardi! Aprite!”
6) Tchaikovsky: The Seasons, Op. 37a “November” and “December”
7) Suk: “Tale of a Winter’s Evening,” Op. 9
8) And maybe everything by Grieg and Sibelius because just thinking about Scandinavia makes me shiver a little

Any other suggestions are welcome. 

2 thoughts on “#TransformationTuesday

  1. It’s crazy hot and humid here, the only thing that gets me through runs is slowing down or doing run/walk. I haven’t done any long runs this summer due to injury (longest was 4 miles. seriously), but last summer we slowed it way down and did walk some… as long as you’re training your endurance, it helps, just get through it and you can run the other runs a little faster maybe. Racing is really hard right now too!

  2. Those poor girls at the race! I can’t say I’ve ever pushed myself so hard during a race that I threw up afterwards :/
    I love love lover summer, but man is it a blow to the ego when you try to run outside in the heat! I try my best to get out early to beat the heat, and I usually wear my visor to stop sweat from dripping into my eyes (serious problem) as well as bring my water bottle. Good luck on your run 🙂

Leave a Reply

