Midsummer Night 5K Series Recap

I have been majorly slacking on the miles lately because of the hot weather. I’m still afraid of the treadmill so I’ve been visiting the pool instead. Swimming, not aqua jogging.. because I don’t own a belt. heh.

I’ll do a short recap of the Midsummer Night 5K series.

Race #1: Skipped. It was the day after the Navy Yard 5k — the 5k I did at work where my time was off by 4 minutes because I got to the starting line too late due to a meeting running over haha oops. #corporatestruggles

Race #2: 26:50. Hot and humid. I think it was 84-86 degrees with high humidity, so it was challenging and I had to walk and stop for water. Not a good run for me, but I purposefully took it easy due to the conditions. I did beat my time from last year on the same course by a minute though 🙂

Race #3: 26:44. POURING RAIN + thunder and lightning. It started POURING about halfway through mile 1 (7:55) and I could barely keep my eyes open because of the rain. I was compleeetely soaked. Guess I’ll need to do more practice runs in the rain! Am sooo glad I didn’t bring my iPod with me for this run because I would’ve had to sing the 3rd movement of Chopin’s 2nd piano sonata to it.

My next race is on Sunday. It’s a 5K steeplechase on a horse farm with obstacles. I’ve never done a “cross country” race before, so this will be interesting! Would 30 minutes be a realistic time? I have to jump over barns and logs and stuff, so I have no idea… will post a recap after the race!

(Update 8/17/14: it’s raining in the ‘burbs of Philly, so I decided not to go to the race. It’s not nearly as bad as the thunderstorm on Thursday, but one 5K race in the rain is enough for one week 🙂 kinda sad I’m missing out on the horse jumps and cross country terrain, but I’m going to try to stay dry today)

photo 1-4

I also got a pair of new running shoes. I wasn’t sure how I felt about my Brooks Adrenalines, so I got fitted at a running store and ended up where I started. I began my running journey in the Asics GT 2100 series (after I got shin splints from wearing Nike shox. AHAHA those were the days…), but when Asics came out with the first generation of the GT 2000’s last year, I just didn’t like them as much, so I decided to give Brooks a try. I like the Brooks PureFlow 2’s for speedy runs, but the Adrenalines weren’t as amazing as my old Asics. I tried the Brooks Ravenna 5, New Balance 860, and Asics 2000 2. The Ravenna 5’s weren’t bad. The New Balance 860’s were wayyy too wide. The Asics 2000 2’s were a Cinderella shoe moment. *waves sparkly wand* early birthday present for myself.

photo 2-3

Have you ever done a cross country race? Do you have a favorite pair of shoes/model?

4 thoughts on “Midsummer Night 5K Series Recap

  1. Hooray for a course PR in hot & humid weather!
    I used to run cross country in high school, and I loved it! But now, I’m not sure I can imagine running quite so fast in grass – though I will say it saves your legs 🙂 Good luck on the race!

    • That’s awesome! I always wish I did cross country in high school. The girls on the team all seemed so friendly and tight-knit, and I think I would’ve loved the team atmosphere, but cross country season always conflicted with the fall musical 😦 haha.

  2. I’ve done cross country races but none of them had obstacles. They were all basically just trail/grass races. I’ve seen a few that had small hay bales and things but never participated in those. I hope you do well, I wouldn’t focus on time too much with it but looks like it should be fun and it has a cute shirt :).

    • Thanks!! I actually backed out of it this morning because it was raining :/ one rainy run (the 5K on Thursday) is enough for one week :p I’ll try to sign up for it next year. The race photos look amazing, and everyone is so muddy. I generally like to stay clean, but I’m sure it would’ve been super fun

Leave a Reply

