Race Recap: Variety’s Superhero 5K

I got a complimentary race entry to the Variety’s Superhero 5K through an email list a few weeks ago (my company does volunteer days at the charity so I’ll probably be spending a day there at some point soon. Great cause). I figured why not register and decide later, so I made a deal with myself last night — I won’t do the race unless I wake up by myself without an alarm. I don’t like running in the morning, so if my body naturally wants to avoid it, then I’ll go with it. At around 7am, I woke up without my alarm, figured that it was plenty of time to get to an 8am race. I made some scrambled eggs, microwaved some sausage links, chased my food down with water and boom I was out the door by 7:30am. I got to the race around 7:45am, picked up my bib, and did a super brief warm up.

I wanted to take it at a comfortable pace because I’m planning to do a track workout later today with my bff J.S. Bach (I think Baroque music is the best for 800 repeats). It was also more for mileage purposes because I’m at 15 so far for the week and I’d really like to make that 20. Because of this, I purposefully ran without a watch and kind of just chilled. I don’t know my splits, nor did I know where the mile markers were. I just ran. Took a walk break for water. Sprinted the last 200 meters so that the photographer could get a good action shot of me. Overall, I’m happy with how this race went. I got my miles in and really enjoyed the course.

…And apparently I placed 2nd in my age group with a 29:04 (9:22/mile pace). Wait what?! I didn’t stay for the awards ceremony because I totally did not expect to ever place in anything. Do race directors usually just mail the medals if you’re not there? No clue because this is a new experience for me. Haha.

Oh, did I mention that this race was superhero themed? There were people in superhero costumes, and it was pretty adorable.

I got some sweet swag at the end of the race:
photo-22
The comfiest shirt ever. I’m already wearing it.

photo-23Two things I’ve been meaning to try — uber and Vita Coco coconut water. Sweet.

Have you ever done a 5K just for fun? Any big races this fall?

4 thoughts on “Race Recap: Variety’s Superhero 5K

  1. Congratulations on placing, even if you didn’t stay or think you did. Sometimes they mail the awards but if I were you, I would contact the race director. You may be able to just pick it up from a store or somewhere. I hope you got your track workout in and that went well too. I love the track :).

    The shirt is really cute too!

    • Ooo thanks for the advice 🙂 I think the prizes were just medals, so I won’t be too bummed if I don’t end up getting it, especially since I ran this race for free.

      I got a nice track workout in to make it a little over 5 miles for the day and 20 for the week!! Woohoo.

  2. Woo – congrats on your AG placing! Hopefully they send you something 🙂 I placed in my AG in one of my half marathons last summer, but didn’t stay for the awards, and they never sent me anything 😦 Hopefully most races aren’t like that.
    Super cute shirt too!

    • Woah placing for a half marathon is so legit — congratulations! Boo that they didn’t send you your award though. That’s a shame 😦 but at least you did an amazing job, so that’s already an amazing prize hehe.

Leave a Reply

