Reindeer Romp 5K Recap + PR

Last race of 2014 in the books. I wish I can do a mile by mile recap, but I didn’t see any mile markers during the entire race 😦 my running was also pretty uneventful, so I’ll just say that I enjoyed the race overall, hummed Spartacus by Aram Khachaturian as I ran, and am super happy about my new 5k PR — 25:28! My previous PR was 26:30, and I was going for sub-26 today, so I’m thrilled that I was able to achieve it despite not knowing how fast I was actually running. Sub-25 is still a big goal for me, and it will keep me motivated for 2015.

More about the race — it was large for a 5k (I think). There were ~500 people, but it was extremely well organized. If you’re in the Philly area, I would highly recommend signing up for it next year: Reindeer Romp. I really wish I can run fast enough to win a prize because the winner mugs looked so cute. Maybe in a few years..

But the shirts were cute too, so I won’t complain too much :). I originally got an adult small long sleeve tech shirt. It was super comfy and definitely way better quality than the long sleeve tech shirt I got at the Philly half marathon, but it was a gigantic bag on me. I knew I would never wear it, so I exchanged it for a youth large (cotton long sleeve), which fits me perfectly. Woohoo. I never seem to be able to wear unisex tech shirts though, which is super sad. I’m 5’4, which I believe is the average height for American females. Guess that means ~50% of other women feel my pain.

photo-30

I’m off to Florida this Wednesday, and I plan on bringing my two new pairs of Nike Rival shorts with me as I go for runs on the beach 😀 I got them at Nike.com during Thanksgiving week. The pink ones were $26, and the colorful ones were $30. Yay sales. I wore the pink ones today for my 5k (I actually wore the same outfit today that I wore for the Philly half AND the Radnor 5 Miler but in different colors lololol. Gotta love the Nike Element half zip + Nike Rival shorts race outfit combo) and stored my car keys in the back pocket. Best. Shorts. Ever. Much better (cheaper + better quality) than the Oiselle Rogas that I attempted a few months back hahaha. And yes, I did end up returning those.

photo-29Any exciting plans for the holidays?
Do you run during the winter? If so, do you have any wisdom or advice to share?

6 thoughts on “Reindeer Romp 5K Recap + PR

  1. Congrats on the PR! Those shorts will be perfect for the beach runs in your future!

    I was a little bit cold in shorts this weekend (it was in the upper 50s) but I think most people who visit from outside the state feel like that’s pretty good weather for wearing shorts 🙂

    • Thank you! I think they’ll be perfect for the sand and water. Woohoo.

      Upper 50s can definitely qualify as shorts weather! I wore the shorts for my half marathon, and it was about 37 degrees at the start haha. I’m so jealous of your views and warm weather.

  2. Woo – CONGRATS on your new PR! Even better that you didn’t have to focus on splits to get it, what a great feeling!
    I’m 5’8 and wear a small in unisex shirts, so I’ve always felt bad for people shorter than me that must be swimming in them! One of my best friends is just under 5’1 and she has a habit of sending me funny Buzzfeed lists or screenshots of #shortpeople problems, so funny. Very cute shirt though – glad you could exchange it for one that fits 🙂
    Enjoy warm & sunny FL! I wish I was going somewhere with shorts weather! I’m just heading to my parent’s house in VA for a couple of days next week, nothing too exciting, but definitely plenty of relaxing 😀

    • Thank you!! I’m already looking forward to my next 5k in February 🙂 hoping that I’ll have consistent mileage going in and yet another PR!

      Yeah #shortpeopleproblems is such a thing haha. I do love some of the perks though — buying children’s clothing and shoes (they go up to a women’s size 8 woohoo!)

      Enjoy your time in VA!!

  3. twsobey says:

    Congratulations!!! Taking a minute off your PR is HUGE! I’m sure a sub-25 won’t be far away. Good luck with your next one.

Leave a Reply

